Rudder Work #1

Here is the link on the Alberg 30 page for rudder varients

1/16/19

The pintal is worn down. however, in general the hardware is good. The pin in the shoe was loose, and was not seated tightly but otherwise in good shape. I had it replaced about 10 + years ago, and they used a bolt cut down to size and I am guessing “floating”. Originally it may have been bolted into the rudder post. The yard I had this done in used a cut down bronze bolt, and left the thread on – why they did not use the shoulder where there was no thread I do not know.  The shoe is in good shape. The pin being loose in the shoe is another example of why you always need to check a boatyard’s work. Basically my assumption now is that if a yard thinks you are not going to see something, then they will cut corners. I am becoming a skeptical bastard in my old age!

Anyway. shaft needs to come out, and rudder head needs to come off – both are in process.

20181202_125423

The hardware is well glassed in, and uses a rivet type fastening approach. I need to find out what these are made of – in my past I have heard of copper fastenings applied this way. The pintal is facing up – the pin hooks up –  so that the rudder can slide on while the gudgeon is in place. This looks like a one piece gudgeon.

20181202_125330

Here is a closer look. You can see how loose the pin is in the gudgeon – basically rattling around in there.

20181202_125337

There is an A30 down the way (Slainte) that has the hardware bolted in

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Hardware, Maintenance, Rudder

Leave a comment